Nominations for this year's awards are now closed - thanks to everyone that nominated!

The 2019 Health Finance Awards are an important platform to recognise and showcase talent, commitment and leadership that exists across the Australian health finance sector. The awards are open to all healthcare organisations and employees across Australia, and we encourage everyone to nominate individuals and/or teams from public, private and not-for-profit organisations, whose principle activities are the provision of health care. If you have an individual, team, or even yourself in mind that you think deserves to be recognised, then make sure you nominate.

Nominations are now closed.

Award Categories:

A candidate who has demonstrated a high level of initiative, commitment and enterprise within their immediate area of across their organisation

(picture) 2018 winner Tarun Soni, Alfred Health


An individual who has improved the classification, coding or costing processes and information that has led to better information for organisations to use when making decisions about service delivery

(picture) 2018 winner Janine Wapper, Central Australia Health Service


An individual from a rural / regional service that has gone above and beyond to drive positive outcomes for their health service and greatly contributed actively to the health finance sector

(picture) 2018 winner Fiona Skaines, Western NSW LHD


A clinician who has taken financial responsibility for their services, led efficiency or improvement programs or provided an example for other clinicians by engaging with the financial management agenda.

(picture) 2018 winner Philip Hoyle, Northern Sydney LHD
An individual who has demonstrated exemplary leadership, strategic vision and produced positive outcomes for the collective health finance sector

(picture) 2018 winner Greg Stenton, DHHS Victoria


A team operating within the health finance domain who has demonstrated robust collaboration and shared contribution towards a major benefit for project with significance in their immediate areas or across the organisation/s

(picture) 2018 winner representative Andreas Voogt on behalf of PARU, Gold Coast HHS


A candidate who has demonstrated outstanding leadership over the last 12 months within their organization, across the sector, or both.

(picture) 2018 winner Scott McConnel, Wide Bay HHS




How to nominate:

Nominations closed at 5pm AEST, Wednesday 7 August

Winners will receive:

  • All finalists receieve complimentary attendance to day one of the National Congress, including a ticket to attend the 2019 Health Finance Awards Dinner
  • National recognition of best practice by peers
  • Invitation and recognition at HFMA's 2019 AGM
  • Prestigious trophy

2019 Health Finance Awards Gala Dinner

The 2019 Health Finance Awards Gala Dinner will be held on Wednesday 18 September as part of the National Congress at Rydges World Square, Sydney. Everyone is welcome to attend the evening, with complimentary attendance to delegates registered for the 2019 National Congress, and additional dinner tickets available.

Key Dates:

  • Wednesday 29th of May - Nominations open and Awards Program launched
  • Wednesday 7th of August - Nominations closed and finalists are shortlisted
  • Wednesday 21st of August - Judging process to be completed
  • Wednesday 18th of September - Award presentation at National Congress in Sydney